top of page

President's Update

February 2024

President Janet Gibb

Kia ora koutou,

Preparation for BPW NZ virtual AGM on Sunday 28th April is underway, with the resolutions committee reviewing draft resolutions, our executive planning the program and compiling reports.

With the changes to the terms for executive, we are in the year where there is no voting required for executive positions.

The Procedure Manual refers to Voting Conference (as opposed to a Non-Voting Conference like this year) - noting 'Voting Conference' only refers to Executive roles. Each executive position is a two-year term and can be a maximum of four consecutive years, so allowing an officer the opportunity to stand in that position a second time. Unless there is a resignation during the two-year term there may not be a vacancy. That scenario has occurred this year. There is also a rolling retirement plan, and some executive committee members retire on alternate years to others, with the exception of the immediate past president.

Your executive for the 2024 to 2025 year will be:

  • President Janet (2nd year of first term)

  • VP Issues Siobhan (1st year of second term under new rules – 4th year in position)

  • VP Membership Rebecca (2nd year of first term)

  • Executive Secretary Sherryll (1st year of second term – 3rd year in position)

  • Executive Treasurer Natasha (1st year of second term under new rules – 3rd year in position)

  • YoungBPW Alice (1st year of second term under new rules – 3rd year in position)

  • IPP Christine (2nd year as immediate past president – appointed position)

Our next Voting Conference will be in 2025. I hope the above information is clear – we are navigating a new process in this space.

BPW International President Catherine has been in communication with Affiliate Federations in the past few months. There are some virtual special general meetings in February and June regarding the international constitution. These meetings are open to observers and that has been communicated to Life Members, Past Presidents, and Clubs. Voting rights are in this instance for two delegates, who are President Janet and IPP Christine. First Vice President Siobhan is the alternate delegate and attended and voted at the meeting on 17 February with President Janet.

We have also been advised that the venue and country for Congress 2024, 17 – 20 November has been moved to St Kitts. St. Kitts and Nevis is an independent State. The Commonwealth countries and Europe do not need a visa. The Congress Hotel is the St. Kitts Marriott Resort. The link to make a hotel reservation will be provided shortly. I will be leading a delegation from BPW NZ and would like to hear from members who are interested in joining me. We can have three delegates and three alternate delegates who will have turns at speaking. Observers are also welcome.

I will continue to deliver my highest value through compelling influence. 

Ngā mihi nui,



Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page